While the establishment of forestry research institutes in developed countries dates back to second half of the 19th century, the establishment date of those in Turkey corresponds to the second half of the 20th century, 100 years later. The first Research Unit in Turkey was founded in Bolu province named as “Forest Research Station” in 1952. This station was transferred to Ankara with the name of “Forestry Research Institute” in 1955.

In 1962, “Poplar Research Institute” was established in Izmit province. This unit was named as “Poplar and Fast Growing Exotic Forest Trees Research Institute” in 1970. Both of the aforementioned Research Institutes conducted countrywide researches with the regional units affiliated to them until 1992.

The Forestry Research Institute, which worked as a provincial unit within the body of the General Directorate of Forestry until 1992, continued its research in an organizational structure including the Research Departments specialized in one of the specific disciplines of forestry in Ankara and the Research Directorates founded based on geographical regions outside of Ankara.

As a result of the re-establishment of the Ministry of Forest in 1992, 11 Research Directorates, each directly affiliated to the Ministry of Forest, were founded. Two of them work countrywide (Directorate of Poplar and Fast-Growing Forest Trees Research Institute and Directorate of Forest Tree Breeding and Seeds Research Institute) and the others work at regional levels independently. Along with the transformation of Eskisehir Soil Laboratory into Research Institute in 2000, the number of Research Institutes has become 12.


After the re-organization, the Forest Research Institute in Ankara has continued its studies at regional level with the name of “Directorate of Central Anatolia Forestry Research Institute”. The Directorate carries on its research activities within the boundaries of the geographical region called "Central Anatolia" including Afyonkarahisar, Eskisehir, Karaman, Konya, Ankara, Nigde, Aksaray, Nevsehir, Kirsehir, Kirikkale, Cankiri, Kayseri, Yozgat, Corum, Sivas, Tokat, Amasya provinces. In this geographical region, there are six Regional Directorates of Forestry and 35 Forest District Directorates.


To protect forest and forest resources against danger of all kinds, to improve them with a nature-friendly understanding and to manage them in an integrity with ecosystem and to provide the versatile and sustainable benefits to the society.


To be a human, environment and nature friendly, transparent and esteemed institute providing sustainable forest management.